Skip to content

Super Random Topic Weekend Update Issue #1 (Special Collector’s Edition)

November 6, 2009

So I’ve been neglecting my blog and its army of devoted fan (Hi Jen!), and I’ve decided to do something about it by inaugurating

SUPER RANDOM TOPIC WEEKEND UPDATE!!!!!

Yes, now those whose lives would be empty and meaningless without constant  updates about the Hellions can rest assured that at least once a week I will post something deep, insightful, and full of uncensored curse words.

(Yes, I have completely stolen this idea from Bryan Lambert’s excellent website You are Dumb.  Feel free to mock me for my lack of originality, I’m sure Bryan would.)

ROAR!!!

ROAR!!!!

#1) Halloween!!!! Or as we used  to call it “Mock the Diabetic Kid Day!”

The Hellions were all Dinosaurs this year, in costumes loving crafted by the Materfamilias herself.  Mom did a great job with these, Carolina had to be dragged out of hers roaring all the way. The Peanut loves Dino’s.  A good time trick or treating was had by all, despite the unseasonably chilly weather. Dad’s job is giving out candy and scaring the fuck out of children, whilst Mom takes the girls out Trick or treating. The costumes this year were very cool (a post later this weekend of a few of the better ones).  Not nearly as many kids came in their “Neighborhood Kid” costume, which I feel is a good sign.

Every year I lament my own lack of innovation when it comes to Halloween. It turns out that I’m just not a big costumey guy.  Nor am I handy enough to do a lot with decorations, a lament that rolls over into X-mas as well. Maybe next year.

#2) Blame it on the IPhone!

If you are ever fortunate enough to come into possession of an Iphone or Blackberry, or whatever the fuck the “Droid” thing is supposed to be, you will soon have to come to grips with the fact that you are going to spend a lot of your time downloading applications.   The Apple App store is chock full of excellent time wasters, many of which are free, which is why I’m now writing a novel.

How does that follow you may ask? Wikihow, that’s how.  I downloaded the free Wikihow App and “How to write a 50,000 word Novel in 30 days” was the spotlight article. I was intrigued. I checked out the website for National Novel Writing Month. I signed up.  As Naomi will tell you, I must be out of my ever fucking mind!!! I barely have time in my day to properly clean myself, yet alone write a novel. And this has turned out to be true for the most part. I have started a novel (which is shaping up to be a young adult steampunk/fantasy story about a young man looking for his lost father). But I can almost guarantee I will not make it to 50,000 words by the 30th of November.  I’m trying, and I will continue to, but I don’t really foresee success this year.  No regrets though. Much like starting this Blog, participating in NanoWriMo has already scratched an itch I didn’t know I had.  I might not write a novel in 30 days, but I’ve increased my chances of someday writing a novel  at all someday exponentially.

#3) Circle the Date! December 11th is my 41st birthday.  December 10th is Karaoke Fantastic at the Northside Tavern. It does not take a super genius to put those two things together into LOU’S SUPER KARAOKE FANTASTIC BIRTHDAY PARTY!!!!

Assuming Ko-Sho ever actually opens in Northside, I wanna get sushi first, then its a night of drunken debauchery and mangled music for all! Check out the Facebook invite for more details (and become my Facebook Friend if you aren’t already).

See Y’all there?

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 12, 2009 1:18 am

    Good luck with the book (I like it so far) and clean is over rated.

Have an opinion?

