Skip to content

Back to School and Finally Starting School

August 23, 2012

Look at the @#$*&! camera!

It has been a long, hot, busy busy busy Summer.  There were Zoo Camps and Swim Camps and Gymnastic Camps and Camping Camps.  There were long days at the Y trying to keep the children from drowning and there were long days at home fantasizing about drowning the children.

The Nelson Family gathered in Custer State Park  from their various far flung locations for five days of hiking and fishing and enjoying each others company immensely. A longer post about that trip will be forthcoming, but here are the pictures. If you like, you could just pick five or six of them, add some snarky commentary and some space filling ramblings and you will have your very own do-it-yourself Raising Hellions post. Which would make my job a lot easier.

I was also able to take an awesome trip to Cooperstown to see Barry Larkin and the Ghost of Ron Santo enshrined in the Baseball Hall of Fame.  It was the first trip I have taken without Girl or the Hellions in five years, ever since the ill fated photo trip to Cleveland that got completely rained out.

But that’s all over now because this week the Hellions started school.  The Schmoo began her third year at The School for the Creative and Performing Arts  as a second grader. and the Peanut joined her as a newly minted kindergartener.  Both girls were insanely excited. Carolina in particular was practically quivering with anticipation.  were we ever that excited for the start of school. I remember mostly dread… deep and paralyzing dread. I may have benefited from therapy in my school years…
Grommit began his school career this very morning, joining the ranks of preschoolers at Winton Montessori. He was also very excited, especially about the prospect of carrying a back pack around.  He is still carrying it around right now. He may want to take it to bed with him. He may have attachment issues.

This blessed event, freeing an entire three hours of my day from the responsibility of ensuring that my children do nothing exceedingly life threatening or legally actionable, has of course been three years overdue because of, y’know, OOPS BABY!

CHEEEEEEZE!

That’s ok though. because we love our oops baby.  We really do. But I would be lying to you fine readers if I did not honestly convey how much I have been waiting for this day.  This is my Bastille Day.  This ends my long national nightmare.  This is the day that the Lord Has Made, let us Rejoice and be Glad. Because today I get one little sliver of my life back.

Please don’t misunderstand. We planned for this.  I came into this job with a full understanding that a big part of parenting well, especially full time parenting, involves a certain amount of self-abnegation.  When we take on the role of parent we hand over control of a lot of our lives to these little monsters that have their claws dug into our hearts.  Doing it well is like jogging, we feel the burn… but we know its a good burn. And we also enjoy the relief when the race is over. This time.

Well now thanks to the miracle of mass public education and the privilege of middle-upper-middle class income I will have the opportunity to claw some of that self back  from the Hellions and be a little selfish.  Three hours a day isn’t much. It’s not enough  time to go back to college or take a real job, (there is almost zero chance of me ever taking a real job again… seriously, if I can die without ever receiving another paycheck, I’ll consider that a win.) I’ll still have a schedule to keep and a kid to watch for half the day.

But it is enough time to do a lot. One of those things I’m gonna do is keep this blog humming along.  Expect to see more activity here.  I need the writing practice for one thing, NANOWRIMO is fast approaching and I’m already excited. I could use some time at the gym as well, get into better shape. The Hellions are growing and keeping up with them isn’t getting easier just because I’m timesharing the job with some awesome teachers.

My Babies are all gone now, replaced by Kids, with all new challenges ahead, and precious memories behind.  I hope I’m up for it. So far… so good.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Betsy permalink
    August 23, 2012 7:57 pm

    Oh what a feeling, those first few kidless days when part of you feels like you have forgotten something important somewhere and the other part feels like a young Mary Tyler Moore in the big city. Enjoy my friend! Savor! For all too soon another summer rolls around and it’s like it never happened. But nevermind that now–it’s not even September yet! Acres of quiet mornings lie ahead. Now if only we still had Kaldi’s to waste them in…:)

    • blotzphoto permalink*
      August 27, 2012 2:25 pm

      Quite so Betsy, incredibly liberating. For instance today I indulged in all the glory of finally getting the goddamn living room and dining room floors scrubbed for the first time in 3 months. It’s a small thing, but I feel soooooooo much better now.

  2. September 6, 2012 6:54 am

    I get my 2.5 hrs 3x a week to myself starting next Monday! woohoo! LOL Congrats!!

Have an opinion?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers

