Skip to content

Now we are so happy we do the Dance of Joy!

December 1, 2011

So I did it, If you look down in the right hand corner of this blog you will see a little web banner.

it looks like this.

Winning!!!

And it means that I was able to write 50,000 words in one month!  All it took was the dedication to set aside some time to write every day,  a certain amount of neglect to my duties as SAHD, and a nasty little nicotine  relapse that I need to nip in th bud before it gets out of hand.

50,247 words sounds like a lot, but it actually only comes out to 247 pages.  By 247 pages of “A Game of Thrones”, author and serial procrastinator George RR Martin had yet to kill off even one sympathetic main character.  It’s essentially a novella at this stage, an unfinished one at that. I actually clicked over the 50,000 word mark in the middle of a sentence, so I had to finish that. Then I had to finish the paragraph. Then I had to finish the chapter. Now I have to finish the story.  Probably another 20,000 words to go. At least I don’t have to do that chunk at a 1667 word a day pace.  When i finally type “the end” I’m going to make a copy available for all of you guys to read, probably by sharing a file on Dropbox.  I’ll also be publishing some more excerpts here as I get them off the iPad .

Some quick things I’ve learned from this experience, in bullet point format.

  1. I really love my iPad. That’s not a new thing I learned but I felt it needed saying.  I used Storyist for iPad, which was an excellent no nonsense app that was a breeze to use.  Unfortunately their desktop software is Mac only, so I may be looking for a replacement.
  2. I really need a brush up course on proper grammar. I’m certain some of my comma abuse is pretty heinous.
  3. You know how a lot of writers talk about how their characters will take on a life of their own?  Like you’ll be writing along and suddenly two of your characters have a lovers spat, cross words are exchanged, and they suddenly decide to “Take a Break” ? That totally happened all the time. And it was AWESOME!
  4. I really love my iPad. I know I said that already, but I really am astonished at the difference the iPad made to my Nano experience. One of the things that has always held me back as a writer has been my atrocious handwriting and lack of typing skills.  Typing on the iPad has been a much more relaxing experience than I expected. I almost purchased a bluetooth keyboard for it, but after the first couple of days I found the onscreen keyboard to be completely efficient. The ios autocomplete system made typos a lot less frequent, and I think the way that the touchscreen keyboard anticipates where your finger needs to land made typing a lot easier than a keyboard.  That being said, I still have a bluetooth keyboard on my Amazon wish list, so go crazy folks.
  5. I didn’t miss my video games as much as I thought I would.  That’s the big thing I gave up to make room for writing and I’m surprised how little I miss it. I haven’t opened my Magic Online client in weeks. I’m just in chapter two of  The Witcher 2, which I will be diving back into because it has…y’know… boobs in it.  I haven’t even bought Skyrim yet.  I’m guessing that I will eventually, but I’m in no hurry.
  6. I had a blast.  Not only will I be doing this again next year, but I’ll be doing more writing year round, both here and on my own. Writing is fun, Who Knew?
2 Comments leave one →
  1. j sult permalink
    December 2, 2011 3:36 pm

    Congratulations! Very inspiring, can’t wait to read it!

Trackbacks

  1. Raising Hellions 2011: A look back at an awesome year of awesomness « Raising Hellions

Have an opinion?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 624 other followers

