Skip to content

Nano Nano…

October 29, 2011

It’s October 29th…  The month is almost over.  Whilst I have not met my goal of a blog post for every day of October, I’m still pretty happy with the results so far. I’ve worked in a couple of recurring features.   I’m learning the in’s and outs of the WordPress interface.  I’ve discovered a pretty good blogging app for my precious iPad, the Blogsy App has been really useful, especially since it will allow me to share with both of my readers my epic “What I did on my summer vacation” project  because all of my summer vacation pictures are stuck there.  All in all I’m  managing to enjoy myself and that was pretty much the point of this exercise.

Nano Nano!

Which leads me to the next step in the Raising Hellions evil master plan… posting a lot less so I can go crazy and write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.

That’s right!  November is National Novel Writing Month, or NANOWRIMO for short.  This will be my third year as a participant in Nano, an event i learned about from my iPhone actually.  “How to write a novel in 3o days” was the homepage of the day for the WikiHow app when I downloaded it.  I was fascinated by the idea, and checked out the website.  Then I signed up. And November came around and I fell flat on my face.

Two years in a row…

My current high water mark is the 5000 words from last years story, which sounds pretty pathetic until you account for the fact that it’s 5000 more words than I’ve written for anything since high school.

This year I plan on replacing that “Participant” badge over there with a “Winner”  badge.  My plan off attack?

+1 vs Nostalgia

Well I had to double check with the rules Guru’s on the Nanowrimo message boards, but I was given the go ahead to reuse my novel from last year, considering that I didn’t get very far, as long as I actually rewrite it without referring to previous material after November first.  So my Nanowrimo project for this year will be to finally and once and for all conquer “The Keep on the Borderlands”.

Written by Gary Gygax himself, KotBs was the adventure setting that was included in the Basic Dungeons and Dragons boxed set (often called the Holmes Rules) that Tony and I received for Christmas in 1980, (it was actually Tony’s present but I was really sick that X-mas  so I got to read the rules while Tony had to go to church. I was swept away and haven’t looked back in 30 years.)

The Keep on the Borderlands details a lonely settlement on the outskirts of civilization, a bastion of law set to watch the edge of  the wilderness.  Nearby lie the infamous Caves of Chaos, a network of tunnels and lairs cut into the walls of an ancient canyon.  Yeah, it’s corny stuff… but it was pure gold back when I was eleven.

What’s more, I plan to populate my story with versions of characters that I have created for various D&D games (or other FRPG’s) over the past 30 years, some of whom haven’t seen the light of a torch in almost that long.

So posting will be  a little lighter during November as I tackle this once again.  I’ll keep up the Manic Monday Parenting Links at the very least, and do my best to keep y’all updated on my progress.

No comments yet

Have an opinion?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 620 other followers

